Mervyn LeRoy Biography, Age, Weight, Height, Friend, Like, Affairs, Favourite, Birthdate & Other

Mervyn LeRoy Biography, Age, Weight, Height, Friend, Like, Affairs, Favourite, Birthdate & Other


This Biography is about one of the best Director Mervyn LeRoy including his Height, weight,Age & Other Detail…

Biography Of Mervyn LeRoy
Real Name Mervyn LeRoy
Profession Directors
Famous as Film Director and Producer
Nationality American
Personal Life of Mervyn LeRoy
Born on 15 October 1900
Birthday 15th October
Died At Age 86
Sun Sign Libra
Born in San Francisco, California
Died on 13 September 1987
Diseases & Disabilities Alzheimer’s
Spouses/Partners (1927-1933; divorced) – Elizabeth Edna Murphy, (1934-1942; divorced) – Doris Warner, (1946-1987; his death) – Katherine
Children Warner LeRoy, Linda LeRoy Janklow
Awards 1946 – Academy Honorary Award – The House I Live In; The House I Live In1957 – Golden Globe Cecil B. DeMille Award1976 – Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award1962; 1946 – Golden Globe Award for Best Film Promoting International Understanding – A Majority of One; The House I Live In
Personal Fact of Mervyn LeRoy

Mervyn LeRoy was an eminent American film director and producer. He made films of various genres like drama, romance, comedy, and musical. He began his career by selling newspapers and worked his way into show business. When he went to Hollywood, he gradually found work as an actor playing juvenile roles in silent films. Ambitious and curious by nature, he quickly learnt the basics of direction.

He was signed by Warner Brothers in 1927 and created many classic movies of different genres for the studio, including the famous gangster films Little Caesar and I Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang. In 1938, he joined Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) and produced several films, including the classic, The Wizard of Oz. He also directed romances like Waterloo Bridge and Random Harvest.

After a successful stint at MGM, he returned to Warner Bros during the mid 1950s. Although eight of his films received nomination in the Academy Awards Best Picture category, he received only a single nomination for Best Director. In 1945, he received a special Oscar for a short documentary on religious intolerance titled The House I Live In. In 1975, he won the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Academy Award.


Total Page Visits: 151 - Today Page Visits: 1